over and out

The assessment results came out last Thursday (23rd April) and I was delighted to find I’d got 76 (breaking down as  27/35, 13/20, 20/25 and 16/20) – my highest mark to date, which is a great place to be as you pass the half-way point of the degree.

The overall comments were good too:

‘This was a well organised submission of work. It is clear that this is a course that has allowed you to explore photography. The multitude of approaches given will be a useful approach to working at Level 3.

‘Your writing is articulate and well referenced. In addition there is a clear sense of a direct personal voice being vocalised in the reflective and analytical posts. In your practical work this is not quite so evident but this is offset by a diversity of working methods.

‘The critical essay has allowed for you to explore using your personal voice within an academic context with the placing of your experience within the narrative. This is an interesting approach and will be useful at the next level. There is of course a balance required in balancing the academic with personal recollection. If this is an approach that you wish to continue, do look at how other authors are able to successfully manage that balance.

‘In the course you have taken full advantage of the various opportunities to work with both your own and found images. The use of randomising imagery and found text in assignment 2 shows a brave step in allowing you as an artist to become distanced from the creation of the work.

‘Do embrace the opportunities on your next stage of your photography journey.’

In passing here (I’ll do a more thorough bit of thinking about how do the feed-forward stuff over on my current blog for Landscape, Place and Environment),  I’ll note that this is the third module if four where I’ve underperformed in the Quality of Outcome bit which deals with ‘Content, application of knowledge, presentation of work in a coherent with discernment. Conceptualisation of thoughts, communication of ideas‘ so that’s the area I need to work on next.


Digital Image and Culture has been a good course for me to do. It is engaging and had led me in a number of surprising directions and has provided the re-set to my photographic practice that I was hoping for at its start. Russell, my tutor was great to work with, providing lots of stuff to look at in response to things I was starting to do. It was also good to find an active, online community around the course who could share their thoughts on where we were at and going.

Finally thanks to everyone who’s been following this blog and making comments. They’re genuinely useful, and I’m sorry if I don’t always respond quickly (or indeed at all) to them.

Now, to  quote Edwin Collins (and others of course) again – upwards and onwards…

 

14 thoughts on “over and out”

  1. Congratulations Simon, that’s a good grade, you should be very proud with your efforts and good luck with your next course

    Like

    1. Thanks Linda – Assuming you’re one of the sixty-somethings (in mark terms, not age) on the results .pdf, that’s still at 2.1 level which is up there towards the nice end of the bell-curve…

      Like

      1. Haven’t seen the pdf yet, I’ll have a look at lunchtime. Unfortunately I’m mid 2.2 but I’m happy with that. It’s an improvement on my previous marks

        Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started